Hawaiian Flag

Hawaii’s state flag may appear strange at first glance, as it has a large Union Jack in the top left corner. What’s the connection to the British? When King Kamehameha I commissioned the flag, he incorporated it as a symbol of the friendly relationship between England and the Kingdom of Hawaii.

The other main component of its design are the eight large stripes of alternating white, red, and blue to represent the eight main islands of Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, Kahoolawe, and the Big Island. The State flag is flown underneath the national flag when they are displayed together.




Occasionally, one will see the Hawaiian flag flown upside-down as a protest of the United States government. It is a sensitive subject here in the islands, and you can read more about the original flag of the Kingdom of Hawaii in this article by Hawaii Magazine.